GDC 2021 Game of the Year Winner and Other Categories Revealed

Recent articles

GDC 2021 Game of the Year Winner and Other Categories Revealed

The Game Developer Conference, or GDC, has announced the winners for the various award categories in 2021. Developer Supergiant Games walked away with several awards, most notably the GDC Game of the Year 2021 award for its most recent title Hades. In addition, titles such as The Last of Us II and Genshin impact also received rewards. [Thanks, Famitsu!]

The categories for the GDC 2021 awards included Game of the Year, Best Audio, Best Debut and Best Design. While some AAA developers took home awards, smaller teams and individual developers also received awards. specific: Phasmophobia, in which, until recently, largely a single developer worked on the title. However, Supergiant Games walked away with the most awards, with Hades received a total of three.

The full list of winners is as follows:

  • Game of the Year: Hades
  • best audio: Hades
  • Best debut: Phasmophobia
  • Best design: Hades
  • Innovation award: To dream
  • Best mobile game: Genshin impact
  • best story: The Last of Us Part II
  • Best technology: Microsoft Flight Simulator
  • Best Visual Arts: Ghost of Tsushima
  • Best VR/AR game: Half-life: Alyx
  • Audience Award: Ghost of Tsushima

Titles nominated for Game of the Year award included Animal Crossing: New Horizons, The Last of Us II, Ghost of Tsushima, and Half-life: Alyx.

In addition, independent titles such as Umerangi Generation received several awards within the Independent Game Festival bracket. It received the top prize and a prize for the best story.

Check all Gaming News here: Gaming Ideology


Leave a Reply