The Newly Updated Location Picker in Google Drive Makes it Extremely Easy to Move Files

Recent articles

Recent months have seen many significant updates to Google Drive, the most prominent of which is a new user interface that aligns with Google’s Material Design 3 language. The redesign was surprisingly similar to the new appearance of Gmail, including a streamlined layout and less clutter than the previous version. The world’s largest search engine is following that up by introducing yet another update to its productivity tool. On the other hand, this time, it affects a little part of the service: location selection.

The Newly Updated Location Picker in Google Drive Makes it Extremely Easy to Move File s_

Google noted in a blog post that the updates include an updated user interface for the location picker on the drive’s online interface. This will enable “you to quickly and efficiently select a location to organize files and folders,” the company said. Therefore, the next time you wish to move a file or document from one folder to another, you will see a new look for the location picker, which now takes up a bigger screen area. This change will occur when you want to move a file or document from one folder to another.

The improved location picker may be used the same way as the previous one: by right-clicking on a file, which brings up a context menu with the “Move to” option. The first item likely to catch your attention is the three tabs at the very top of the page. These tabs are labeled “Suggested,” “Starred,” and “All locations.” Additionally, the drive will display the name of the file you are moving and its current location.

After you have chosen a folder, the disk will generate the folder path and display it at the bottom of the location list after it has been completed. You can make a new folder and even reject a specific suggestion to remove it from the list if none of the existing folders are suitable for the file that you are seeking to relocate.

The Newly Updated Location Picker in Google Drive Makes it Extremely Easy to Move Files_

You will be notified if you move the file to a folder that does not already contain it. To finish the task, click the “Move” button in the screen’s lower right corner. In the meantime, if you select a folder with the “view only” permission, you will be presented with the relevant title and an explanation as to why you cannot move a file into that location.

The newly revamped file picker is being made available to users in stages. It should be accessible to everyone by the middle of May at the latest. This functionality is accessible to users with a personal Google account, a Workspace membership, or who previously subscribed to the Basic or Business tiers of the legacy G Suite offering.

It is important to note that how you utilize the drive has not changed, and Google stated that the “update improves upon the current Drive picker experience.”

Leave a Reply