Mark Zuckerberg, head of Meta, the company that owns WhatsApp, announced on Tuesday that users can access their WhatsApp account from four additional phones, or 5 in all.
“Starting today (Tuesday), you can access the same WhatsApp account on up to four phones,” Zuckerberg said, via a post on his official Facebook account.
WhatsApp users can now link up to four additional smartphones by scanning QR codes with their primary phones. Previously, users could already link up to four computers or tablets to a single WhatsApp account, but now they can log in through phones.
This “much-needed” feature suits those who have one phone for work and one phone for personal use but still want all their conversations under one WhatsApp account, although some have said couples they don’t trust will try to access your partner’s account.
“WhatsApp” has begun rolling out the update to users globally and will be available to everyone in the coming weeks, and in response to concerns about strangers logging into their account, WhatsApp said users can control any other connected device to their accounts and remotely log them out of their phones.
And WhatsApp started in 2021, allowing users to connect up to four additional non-phone devices such as computers and tablets to their accounts, regardless of phone, and that meant the user was able to use their phone, two tablets and two computers all working with the same individual WhatsApp account.
This feature was introduced globally by 2022, but now WhatsApp is taking it a step further by offering the ability to use the same WhatsApp account on multiple phones as well.
And WhatsApp has said that each connected device will connect to “WhatsApp” independently, ensuring that all personal messages, media and calls are in sync, and if the “parent” smartphone – defined as the phone on which the your WhatsApp account – is inactive for a long time. , you will be automatically logged out of all “companion” phones.
WhatsApp employees have confirmed that no matter which device is running a WhatsApp account, all chats will remain end-to-end encrypted, and end-to-end encryption ensures that only the participants read the messages and no one in between, not even the company that owns the service.